Saturday, June 17, 2017

Adrenaline Mob at the Marlin Room at Webster Hall

Russell Allen & Mike Orlando
Russell Allen was born in Long Beach, California, and was a jouster at a Medieval Times Dinner Theater before he started singing in the band Symphony X in 1995. Guitarist Mike Orlando, based out of Staten Island, New York, was Guitar Player magazine's Superstar Of The Year award in 2009. Demo sessions for what was planned to be Allen's solo album in 2011 turned into Adrenaline Mob, a band that has included drummers Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Avenged Sevenfold) and A.J. Pero (Twisted Sister), bassist Paul Di Leo (Fozzy) and John Moyer (Disturbed), and rhythm guitarist Rich Ward (Fozzy), among others. Adrenaline Mob presently consists of Allen, Orlando, bassist David "Dave Z" Zablidowsky (Trans-Siberian Orchestra, Jeff Scott Soto) and drummer Jordan Cannata. Adrenaline Mob's third album, We the People, was released on June 2, 2017.
Almost six years to the date after Adrenaline Mob debuted at the Hiro Ballroom, the band tonight headlined a few blocks away at the Marlin Room at Webster Hall. Adrenaline Mob had been mostly silent since shortly after the sudden death of drummer A.J. Pero on a 2015 tour, but the band is back, loud and wild as ever. Although the band was born decades later, here was textbook example of what late 1970s/early 1980s rock was all about: strong singing, dazzling guitar playing, hard-hitting riffs and grooves, a chest-thumping rhythm section and rock star showmanship. Most of the show was comprised of hard-edged rock and roll songs, with a few requisite power ballads for radio-tailored purposes. The set majored on heart and minored on rallying fist pumpers. These king-sized musical talents would do well to write a few more of the latter.
Visit Adrenaline Mob at
  1. Mob Is Back
  2. Let It Go
  3. Hit the Wall
  4. Chasing Dragons
  5. Dearly Departed
  6. All on the Line
  7. King of the Ring
  8. Judgment Day
  9. Indifferent
  10. Undaunted
  11. The Mob Rules (Black Sabbath cover)