Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Gov't Mule at Rumsey Playfield

Warren Haynes
Warren Haynes began playing guitar at age 12 in Asheville, North Carolina. In 1980, at age 20, he joined David Allan Coe's touring and recording band and remained with Coe's band for four years. He then played in the Nighthawks in the mid 1980s and the Dickey Betts Band in the late 1980s. When the Allman Brothers Band reunited in 1989, Betts recruited Haynes. During a break from the Allman Brothers Band in 1994, Haynes formed a side project, Gov’t Mule (pronounced Government Mule). The Allman Brothers Band went on hiatus in 1997, so Haynes turned Gov't Mule into his full time band. The Allman Brothers Band reformed again from 2000 to 2014, during which time Haynes played in both bands. Occasionally, Haynes also led his own Warren Haynes Band and played in Phil Lesh & Friends and other Grateful Dead spin-offs. Gov’t Mule presently consists of vocalist/guitarist Haynes, keyboardist/guitarist Danny Louis, bassist Jorgen Carlsson and drummer Matt Abts. The band will release its 10th studio album, Revolution Come… Revolution Go, on June 9, 2017.

Gov't Mule tonight headlined the opening night of the CityParks SummerStage 2017 concert series, which brings more than 100 free outdoor concerts to parks in the five boroughs. The Gov't Mule show in Central Park's Rumsey Playfield was one of the select benefit shows which help finance the rest of the concerts. The performance also was the band's 2,000th concert since forming in 1994. The band celebrated by performing for more than two hours and periodically bringing onstage guests including actor Bruce Willis on harmonica, guitarist Neal Casal of the opening act, the Chris Robinson Brotherhood, saxophonist Steve Elson, percussionist Bobby Allende, and vocalists Jasmine Muhammad and Lauren Dawson. Haynes sang his throaty best and Gov't Mule played its blistering southern rock well. The gem of the evening was in its platform for extended improvisational jamming, however, and so many songs hovered at about 10 minutes in length, as Haynes' guitar playing weaved intricately through the contributions of the keyboardist and the guest performers. Newer songs seemed as inspired as the older songs, and several cover tunes and teases became foils for reinterpretation with country, folk, blues and jazz inflections. Gov't Mule's entire set was a showcase of musical accomplishments.

Visit Gov't Mule at

  1. World Boss
  2. Brand New Angel
  3. About to Rage
  4. Rocking Horse
  5. Birth of the Mule
  6. Whisper in Your Soul (>) Stone Cold Rage
  7. Sarah, Surrender (with Bobby Allende, Jasmine Muhammad & Lauren Dawson)
  8. Traveling Tune (live debut)
  9. Forsaken Savior
  10. Game Face (with teases of the Beatles' "Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown),"  Weather Report's "Birdland" and the Allman Brothers Band's "Mountain Jam")
  11. Banks of the Deep End
  12. Time to Confess (with teases of the Grateful Dead‘s “Shakedown Street” and Paul McCartney & Wings' “Band on the Run.”)
  13. Key to the Highway (Charles Segar cover) (with Neal Casal and Bruce Willis)
  14. Revolution Come, Revolution Go
  15. Stratus (Billy Cobham cover) (with Bobby Allende & Steve Elson)
  16. Mule (with Bobby Allende & Steve Elson)
  1. Dreams & Songs (with Jasmine Muhammad & Lauren Dawson)

No comments:

Post a Comment