Thursday, March 23, 2017

Dope at the Highline Ballroom

Edsel Dope
Edsel Dope was born Brian Ebejer in West Palm Beach, Florida, where as a boy he practiced drumming by playing along to his Kiss albums. As an adult, he moved to Las Vegas and New Orleans, finally relocating to New York in 1995 with his older brother Simon. The renamed Edsel Dope started by making music in his bedroom on a computer, then with his brother formed an industrial/nu metal band, Dope, in 1997 in Villa Park, Illinois. While 16 musicians can claim to have been in Dope at some time, the present personnel is vocalist/rhythm guitarist Edsel Dope, lead guitarist Virus, bassist Nikk Dibs and drummer Daniel Fox. Dope's sixth and most recent studio album, Blood Money Part 1, was released on October 28, 2016. Blood Money Part 2 is proposed for release in 2017.

At the Highline Ballroom opening for Combichrist tonight, Dope performed between large LED screens behind them and gushing smoke jets in front of them. Between fast moving swashes of color and pillars of fog, Dope opened with the nu-metal beats of "Violence," crashing together heavy rhythms, scratchy vocals and eerie lead guitar sounds. Fast and furious, the music plowed through new and older songs, many spiced with obscenities or other objectionable lyrics. While the compositions paralleled traditional melodic pop structures, the vocals and the musical delivery were coarse, abrasive and aggressive. The result was a steady stream of well-executed fist-pumping anthems. Dope achieved its highest popularity a decade ago, but the goods have remained intact and could appeal to a new generation of rebellious rockers.

Visit Dope at

Concert setlist
  1. Violence
  2. Blood Money
  3. 6-6 Sick
  4. Bring It On
  5. Bitch
  6. Take Your Best Shot
  7. Lexipro
  8. My Funeral
  9. Addiction
  10. You Spin Me Round (Dead or Alive cover)
  11. Nothing for Me Here
  12. Rebel Yell (Billy Idol cover)
  13. Die, Boom, Bang, Burn, Fuck (medley)
  14. 1999